The 2001-2002 Jim Buchanan Memorial Scholarship 

Buchanan and Company is proud to announce the 2001-2002 recipients of the Jim Buchanan Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship was established upon Jim's death in 1993 by his family, friends and business associates. It is funded by income from an endowment in the Kansas State University Foundation. That endowment has now grown to well over $100,000. Including this year, 27 scholarships totaling $35,850 have been awarded.

Jim and his wife, Teresa actively participated in establishing the criteria for the scholarship. Those criteria include enrollment in Agriculture at Kansas State University, graduation from a small Kansas high school, participation in 4-H, FFA and athletics, and demonstration of leadership potential.

Will Buchanan is Jim and Teresa (Buchanan) Perky's oldest son. He is from Overland Park and graduated from Blue Valley Northwest High School where he was a member of the National Honor Society. This summer, he was a Boy's State counselor at KSU. He is a Freshman in Engineering. Will's brother, Ben, is a Junior at Blue Valley Northwest and will also be eligible for the scholarship.
Dale Jessup is from Phillipsburg, KS. He is a member of the first Kansas State 4-H Youth Leadership Council. During high school, Dale was active in 4-H, FFA, basketball, cross country track, was a member of his school's show choir, and was a member of the National Honor Society. Dale's major is Agricultural Economics.
Jeremy Abell is from Barnard, KS. He graduated from Lincoln High School were he particupated in in Scholar's Bowl, football, wrestling, track, and the National Honor Society, and was active in community and church affairs. At Kansas State, Jeremy's major is Agronomy
Ashley Dunbar is a repeat recipient from last year. At KSU, she is a sophomore in Food Science. This year, she served as a Kansas Senate legislative intern. Ashley is a member of the Kappa Kappa Gamma sorority, and has earned membership in Silver Key and Phi Eta Sigma honorary societies and the National Society of Collegiate Scholars.
Orrin Holle is also a repeat recipient from last year. At KSU, he is a sophomore in Agricultural Economics and has just completed a term traveling, making presentations and conducting workshops as a State FFA officer. Orrin is also a member of the Silver Key honor society and AG REPS.

1999-2000 Scholarship Recipients
2000-2001 Scholarship Recipients