The 2006-2007 Jim Buchanan Memorial Scholarship

Buchanan and Company is proud to announce the 2006-2007 recipients of the Jim Buchanan Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship was established upon Jim's death in 1993 by his family, friends and business associates. It is funded by income from a permanent endowment in the Kansas State University Foundation. That endowment has now grown to well over $100,000. Including this year's recipients, 48 scholarships have been granted, totaling $63,150. Criteria include, but are not limited to, enrollment in Agriculture at Kansas State University, graduation from a small Kansas high school, participation in 4-H, FFA and athletics, and demonstrated leadership potential. This plaque is displayed at KSU in Waters Hall, room 137.

Ben Buchanan, the  youngest son of Jim and Teresa (Perky) Buchanan,  graduated from Blue Valley Northwest where he was a member of the National Honor Society. At Kansas State, he is a Senior in Finance, a member the Lambda Chi Alpha fraternity, and claims to be KSU’s biggest sports fan.  He has served as Vice-President for membership for both the Alpha Kappa Psi business fraternity and the Toastmaster's Club.

Andrew Erickson is a Sophomore in Agri-Business.  He comes from McPherson, Kansas, where he grew up on his family's third-generation farm. He is a member of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars,  is co-membership chair of the AgEcon/AgBusiness club, and plays in the KSU Concert Band.  In the summer of 2006, he studied at the Purpan School of Agriculture in Toulouse, France and interned at a vineyard near Bordaux.

David Deforest is a Freshman in Agronomy.  He comes from a farm near Florence, Kansas and graduated from Marion High School, where he played football, basketball and baseball, and was involved in a variety of class and student council leadership positions.

Carly Whorton comes from Holton, and is a Freshman in Agricultural Economics with a minor in Animal Science.  At Holton High School, she was very active in FFA and competed in a number of public speaking events.  She is a member of the parliamentary procedure team that will compete at the National FFA Convention in the fall of 2006.  She is the 2006-2007 state FFA Sentinal.

1999-2000 Scholarship Recipients
2000-2001 Scholarship Recipients
2001-2002 Scholarship Recipients 
2002-2003 Scholarship Recipients
2003-2004 Scholarship Recipients
2004-2005 Scholarship Recipients
2005-2006 Scholarship Recipients